Eileen Gray

Eileen Gray

Eileen Gray (1878-1976)

Gelobt als Pionierin der Moderne in Architektur und Design, wurde Kathleen Eileen Moray Gray in eine aristokratischen Familie geboren, die in der Nähe Enniscorthy, einer Marktgemeinde im Südosten Irlands, lebte. Ihr künstlerisches Flair wurde bereits von ihren Eltern in jungen Jahren gefördert. Sie hatte das Glück, mit ihrem Vater viel zu reisen während er auf Touren durch Italien und die Schweiz mit Malen beschäftigt war.

Gray war fasziniert von der Art Nouveau Philosophie während sie an der Slade School of Fine Art in London studierte. Sie war ein großer Fan der Arbeiten vom Glasgower Charles Rennie Mackintosh, dessen Einfluss auch in ihren Werken offensichtlich ist.

Sie verbrachte ein Großteil ihres Lebens in Paris und Südfrankreich und wurde auch von diesen Umgebungen stark beeinflusst. Eileen Grays Entwürfe werden als moderne Möbelklassiker betrachtet. Vogue und Yves Saint Laurent sind Fans von ihrer Arbeit, und ein Werk von Gray wurde kürzlich bei einer Auktion in Paris für € 21.900.000 verkauft , ein Rekord für die dekorative Kunst des 20ten Jahrhunderts,

Filter
Shopping Options
Rating
Wir können keine Produkte finden, die der Auswahl entsprechen.
Die Produkte von Cuberious SL. Spanien werden nicht von Herman Miller, Charles oder Ray Eames, Knoll, Fritz Hansen, Carl Hansen und Son
oder anderen Unternehmen hergestellt, von diesen gesponsert, mit ihnen verbunden oder mit ihnen in Verbindung gebracht.

Eileen Gray

Eileen Gray

Eileen Gray (1878-1976)

Lauded as a pioneer of the Modern Movement in architecture and design, Kathleen Eileen Moray Gray was born into an aristocratic family near Enniscorthy, a market town in south-eastern Ireland. An artistic flair was encouraged by her parents at a young age and she was fortunate enough to travel with her father extensively on painting tours of Italy and Switzerland.

Gray became intrigued by the Art Nouveau philosophy whilst studying at the Slade School of Fine Art in London. She was a huge fan of the work of Glaswegian Charles Rennie Mackintosh, an influence which is apparent within her pieces.

Having spent the majority of her adulthood being influenced by her surroundings in Paris and southern France, Eileen Gray’s designs are considered as modern furniture classics. Vogue magazine and Yves Saint Laurent are noted fans of her work; whilst a piece designed by Gray was recently sold at auction in Paris for 21.9 million euros, setting a record for 20th century decorative art.

Filter
Shopping Options
Rating
View as Grid List

Set Descending Direction
  1. Coffee Table E1027 Inspired by Eileen Gray
    189 €
    Price for the original ...  680 €
    Compare
  2. Bibendum Chair Inspired by Eileen Gray
    599 €
    Price for the original ...  4.540 €
    Compare
  3. Gray Daybed Inspired by Eileen Gray
    888 €
    Price for the original ...  5.499 €
    Compare
View as Grid List

Set Descending Direction
Cuberious Limited Ireland´s products are not manufactured by, sponsored by, affiliated with, or associated with
Herman Miller, Charles or Ray Eames, Knoll, Fritz Hansen, Carl Hansen & Søn, or other companies.