Greta Magnusson-Grossman

Greta Magnusson-Grossman

Greta Magnusson-Grossman was born in Helsingborg, Sweden, in 1906.

Her career included architecture, interior design and furniture design. In the 1920s, she completed her one-year woodworking education in Helsingborg and was awarded a scholarship at the prestigious Stockholm Kunsthochschule Konstfack, where she studied furniture, textiles and ceramics design.

In 1933 she was awarded the second place for furniture design by the Stockholm Craft Trade Association, making her the first female winner in this category.

That same year, Grossman opened with her Konstfack fellow student Erik Ullrich Studio, a store and a design workshop in Stockholm and married the jazz band frontman Billy Grossman. In 1937 Grossman designed a cot for the Swedish princess Birgitta for a group exhibition in the National Museum of Stockholm. In 1940, she emigrated with her husband to America and settled in Los Angeles.

There she opened a furniture, lighting and interior design workshop in Beverly Hills. In addition to her business, she also designed pieces for companies such as Sherman Bertram, Modern Line, Barker Brothers and Glenn of California.

Between 1949 and 1959, Grossman designed numerous homes in California, often collaborating with landscape architect Garrett Eckbo.

The floor area of most of the buildings was less than 140 square meters and many were built on stilts, providing exceptional views. During the 1950s, she taught industrial design at the Art Center School and the University of California, Los Angeles. In the late 1960s, Grossman retired from design and architecture.

Filter
Shopping Options
Rating
View as Grid List

Preis absteigend
  1. Gräshoppa Desk Lamp Inspiriert von Greta Magnusson-Grossman
    149 €
    Preis des Originals ...  727 €
    Vergleichen
  2. Gräshoppa Floor Lamp Inspiriert von Greta Magnusson-Grossman
    199 €
    Preis des Originals ...  1.327 €
    Vergleichen
View as Grid List

Preis absteigend
Cuberious Limited Ireland´s products are not manufactured by, sponsored by, affiliated with, or associated with
Herman Miller, Charles or Ray Eames, Knoll, Fritz Hansen, Carl Hansen & Søn, or other companies.
 

This website is also available in your language.


Diese Website ist auch in Ihrer Sprache verfügbar.


Este sitio web también está disponible en su idioma.

Greta Magnusson-Grossman

Greta Magnusson-Grossman

Greta Magnusson-Grossman wurde 1906 in Helsingborg, Schweden, geboren.

Ihre Karriere umfasste Architektur, Innenarchitektur und Möbeldesign. In den 1920er Jahren absolvierte sie ihre einjährige Ausbildung zur Holzbearbeiterin in Helsingborg und erhielt ein Stipendium an der renommierten Stockholmer Kunsthochschule Konstfack, wo sie Möbel-, Textil- und Keramikdesign studierte

1933 wurde sie vom Stockholmer Handwerksverband mit dem zweiten Platz für Möbeldesign ausgezeichnet. Damit war sie die erste weibliche Gewinnerin in dieser Kategorie.

Im selben Jahr eröffnete Grossman mit ihrem Konstfack-Kommilitonen Erik Ullrich Studio ein Geschäft und eine Designwerkstatt in Stockholm und heiratete den Frontmann der Jazzband Billy Grossman. 1937 entwarf Grossman für die schwedische Prinzessin Birgitta ein Kinderbett für eine Gruppenausstellung im Stockholmer Nationalmuseum. 1940 wanderte sie mit ihrem Ehemann nach Amerika aus und ließ sich in Los Angeles nieder

Dort eröffnete sie eine Werkstatt für Möbel, Beleuchtung und Innenarchitektur in Beverly Hills. Neben ihrem Geschäft entwarf sie auch Stücke für Unternehmen wie Sherman Bertram, Modern Line, Barker Brothers und Glenn of California

Zwischen 1949 und 1959 entwarf Grossman zahlreiche Wohnhäuser in Kalifornien, oft in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Landschaftsarchitekten Garrett Eckbo.

Die Grundfläche der meisten Gebäude war weniger als 140 Quadratmeter und viele wurden auf Stelzen gebaut, um eine außergewöhnliche Aussicht zu bieten. In den 1950er Jahren unterrichtete sie Industriedesign an der Art Center School und der University of California in Los Angeles. In den späten 1960er Jahren zog sich Grossman aus dem Bereich Design und Architektur zurück.

Filter
Shopping Options
Rating
View as Grid List

Preis absteigend
  1. Grashüpfer Tischleuchte Inspiriert von Greta Magnusson-Grossman
    149 €
    Preis des Originals ...  727 €
    Vergleichen
  2. "Grashüpfer" Stehleuchte Inspiriert von Greta Magnusson-Grossman
    199 €
    Preis des Originals ...  1.327 €
    Vergleichen
View as Grid List

Preis absteigend
Die Produkte von Cuberious Limited Ireland werden nicht von Herman Miller, Charles oder Ray Eames, Knoll, Fritz Hansen, Carl Hansen und Søn
oder anderen Unternehmen hergestellt, von diesen gesponsert, mit ihnen verbunden oder mit ihnen in Verbindung gebracht.