Harry Bertoia

Harry Bertoia

Harry Bertoia (1915-1978)

Artist, sound art sculptor and modern furniture designer, Harry Bertoia achieved huge commercial success during a glittering yet controversial career. Born in San Lorenzo, Italy in 1915, Bertoia made the radical decision to move to America at the tender age of 15 and soon earned a scholarship to study at the Cranbrook Academy of Art.

A real genius and artistic flair are evident within Bertoia’s work and the Italian-born designer incorporated his sculptural skills when creating his furniture pieces. Material and production techniques were also intrinsic to Bertoia’s design process and he pushed the creative barriers with his works. Bertoia once commented on his own collection of welded steel chairs, "If you look at these chairs, they are mainly made of air, like sculpture. Space passes right through them."

Despite his Italian origin, Bertoia’s work is celebrated throughout the States and can be found showcased at the Addison Gallery of American Art in Massachusetts, the Brooklyn Museum, the Hirshhorn Museum & Sculpture Garden in Washington and the Philadelphia Museum of Art, amongst many others.

Filter
Shopping Options
Rating
View as Grid List

Preis absteigend
  1. Wire Side Chair Inspiriert von Harry Bertoia
    129 €
    Preis des Originals ...  923 €
    Vergleichen
  2. Diamond Chair Inspiriert von Harry Bertoia
    155 €
    Preis des Originals ...  868 €
    Vergleichen
View as Grid List

Preis absteigend
Cuberious Limited Ireland´s products are not manufactured by, sponsored by, affiliated with, or associated with
Herman Miller, Charles or Ray Eames, Knoll, Fritz Hansen, Carl Hansen & Søn, or other companies.
 

This website is also available in your language.


Diese Website ist auch in Ihrer Sprache verfügbar.


Este sitio web también está disponible en su idioma.

Harry Bertoia

Harry Bertoia

Harry Bertoia (1915-1978)

Künstler, Musiker, Bildhauer und Designer moderner Möbel, Harry Bertoia erreichte großen Erfolg während seiner glitzernden und doch umstrittenen Karriere. Geboren in San Lorenzo, Italien im Jahr 1915, machte Bertoia die radikale Entscheidung, im zarten Alter von 15 Jahren nach Amerika auszuwandern und erlangte ein Stipendium an der Cranbrook Academy of Art.

Ein echtes Genie mit künstlerischem Flair zeigte sich in Bertoias Arbeiten und italienische Designer integrierte seine bildhauerischen Fähigkeiten in der Erstellung seiner Möbel. Material und Herstellungstechniken waren wesentlich im Design Prozess Bertoias und er durchbrach mit seinen Werken kreative Barrieren. Bertoia sagte einmal über seine eigene Kollektion geschweißter Stahl Stühle: "Wenn du diese Stühle ansiehst, sind sie hauptsächlich aus Luft, wie eine Skulptur. Der Raum führt direkt durch sie hindurch."

Trotz seiner italienischen Herkunft, werden Bertoias Arbeiten in ganz Amerika gefeiert und werden in der Addison Gallery of American Art in Massachusetts präsentiert , das Brooklyn Museum, das Hirshhorn Museum & Sculpture Garden in Washington und das Philadelphia Museum of Art, zeigen ebenfalls seine Kreationen.

Filter
Shopping Options
Rating
View as Grid List

Preis absteigend
  1. Wire Side Stuhl Inspiriert von Harry Bertoia
    129 €
    Preis des Originals ...  923 €
    Vergleichen
  2. Diamant Stuhl Inspiriert von Harry Bertoia
    155 €
    Preis des Originals ...  868 €
    Vergleichen
View as Grid List

Preis absteigend
Die Produkte von Cuberious Limited Ireland werden nicht von Herman Miller, Charles oder Ray Eames, Knoll, Fritz Hansen, Carl Hansen und Søn
oder anderen Unternehmen hergestellt, von diesen gesponsert, mit ihnen verbunden oder mit ihnen in Verbindung gebracht.